3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 3, 2017 7:38 PM by philmodjunk

Help with a relationship

scoot_ya_boot

To preface, I'm a novice user. I have Filemaker Pro Advanced (14, I believe), and I'm trying to create relationships across a few tables. What I'm attempting to do is compare what was ordered from the "LB_Order_Info" table to what was produced in a table called "Alb_Incoming_Shipments_Item". For further explanation, the "LB_Order_Item" table has a portal that's related to the "Alb_LB_Order_Item" table. In LB_Order_Item, I key the week that the product was produced for, and then in the portal associated with Alb_LB_Order_Item, I type in the item number, and the amount ordered.

On another set of tables, I have "Alb_Incoming_Shipments," where I key in the information from the delivery slips created by the production facility, into another portal related to "Alb_Incoming_Shipments_Item". This portal/table contains the item number, the quantity shipped, and the week it was produced for.

What I'm trying to do is create a layout with LB_Order_Info as the table, with only the only field being production week, then place a portal inside of it that shows the item number, the quantity ordered (from Alb_LB_Order_Item table), and the quantity shipped (from the Alb_Incoming_Shipments_Item table).

I've attached a screenshot of my relationships. If you see "BUSS" or "BUSS_Number," that's the item number I'm talking about above.

Thank you in advance!

• 1. Re: Help with a relationship
          philmodjunk

Is the relationship between LB_Order_Info and LB_Order_Item supposed to be 1 to 1? That's what appears to be the case, yet the field naming conventions suggest that it should be one to many in a typical "one order to many listed items" relationship. (There are "crows feet" missing that suggest a unique values validation or auto-entered serial number option on fk_LB_Order_Info and this does not appear to be what should be specified here.)