7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 9, 2017 4:02 PM by BeatriceBeaubien

Related Record via a Popover

llweisscptc

I am new to FM and I am struggling with getting this to work. I have read a bunch of the suggestions in other discussions, but I am doing something wrong.

I am connecting to a MS SQL database so I can not provide a database file, but I have attached screen shots. I have a table Panelist (pk is pn_ID) related table PanelistITA (pk is pita_ID and fk pn_ID) that contains ITA records for the panelist.

I am trying to use a popover entry of new ITA records.

I have two popovers just to show the two different ways of trying to do this but I am failing at both I think in my scripts or where the script is attached.

Any help would be appreciated.

relationships_PanelistITA.png

layout_panelistITAportal.png

popover_addITARecord_PanelistITAtable.png

popover_add_button_script_addITARecord_PanelistITAtable.png

popover_addITARecord_globalstable.png

popover_add_button_script_addITARecord_globalstable.png

• 1. Re: Related Record via a Popover
          philmodjunk

How does this fail for you?

The scripts look OK though it's not a method that I use much anymore. (I prefer MagicKey as it avoids the need to change layouts)

But the relationships look problematic.

If these were FileMaker tables rather than shadow tables to an external source, the "Tee" connectors shown would indicate a global, unstored or at least unindexed match field. You can get away with one such in a relationship if you only use it to reference data from the context of the field with the unindexed field, but you can't have both unindexed and so the relationship doesn't look right to me.

• 2. Re: Related Record via a Popover
            llweisscptc

The New ITA popover on the left opens with the last ITA record prepopulated. Changing any of the data edits that record ( I do not want to allow changes either after the initial entry.)