7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 19, 2017 9:24 PM by philmodjunk

Splitting Database

naknak

Hi there,

I'm new to Filemaker Pro 15 and have a simple question. 

I need to split our database into 2.  Is this possible and what is the simplest safest way to do it?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Splitting Database
          beverly

1. That would depend WHY

2. You might research 'separation' on this forum

You should move this question to the @Discussions place. See if these instructions help:

Sent from miPhone

• 2. Re: Splitting Database
            TSPigeon

naknak:

Thank you for your post!

As beverly suggested to you, I'm going to move this thread from the FileMaker Community Feedback Space, which is specifically for input on the Community itself, to the Discussions Space where you should receive more views and potentially more feedback on this topic!

TSPigeon

FileMaker, Inc.

• 3. Re: Splitting Database
              philmodjunk
              1. Make a copy of your file.
              2. Name the two copies the way you want so that you can tell which is the User Interface (UI) file and which will function as the data or "back end" file.
              3. Open the UI copy of the file and open Manage | Database | Relationships
              4. Double click each table occurrence box in the relationships graph to open a dialog box where you can modify the settings for that table occurrence.
              5. On the first such case, select "add FileMaker Datasource" find your back end copy and select it as the data source. This produces a list of tables in that file. Select the table with the same name as the data source table for your table occurrence.