12 Replies Latest reply on Feb 20, 2017 3:27 AM by g.tam

Trouble sending a CSV attachment on iPhone

g.tam

I keep alternating the template "invoice" solution of FMP15.  Now I am trying to email invoices by attaching a CSV file, which is something I wanna do when I'm away from my office.  The result is fine when I test the iPhone layout on Mac, however, there were no attachment when I test it on iPhone with FM Go.  Why would that happen?  Please kindly make suggestions for me to check on.  FYI, I'm no programmer, just trying to make a simple sales-inventory program.

• 1. Re: Trouble sending a CSV attachment on iPhone
          beverly

Can you post your script? I do this all the time (email CSV from my iPhone). The paths on iOS can be slightly different than on desktop.

You can use:

Get ( TemporaryPath )

Get ( DocumentsPath )

on iOS, but not:

Get ( DesktopPath)

for example, to "save" the export to a variable that becomes your attachment in the email.

Sent from miPhone

• 2. Re: Trouble sending a CSV attachment on iPhone
            g.tam

It was duplicated and altered from the original script "Send Invoice by Email":

1 Set Error Capture [ On ]

2 Freeze Window

3 Go to Related Record [ Show only related records

From table: "Invoice Data" ;

Using Layout: <Current Layout> ; New window ]

4 If [ Get ( LastError ) = 0 ]

5 Set Variable [ $PATH ;

Value: Get ( TemporaryPath ) & "Order " & "Customers::Client ID" & ".csv"

6 Save Records as Excel [ Restore ;

with dialog: Off ; "$PATH" ;

Records being browsed ]

7 Send Mail [ Send via E-mail Client ;

with dialog: On ;

To: "my company email" ;

Subject: "Order #" & Customers::Client ID & Invoices::Date ; "$PATH" ]

8 Set Field [ Invoices::Sent On ; Get ( CurrentTimestamp) ]

9 Close Window [ Current Window ]

10 End If

• 3. Re: Trouble sending a CSV attachment on iPhone
              philmodjunk