AnsweredAssumed Answered

Table as a menu for reference

Question asked by ottawahix on Feb 21, 2017
Latest reply on Feb 21, 2017 by ottawahix

Hi all,

This is my first time posting, and I'm basically a newbie since I am only just now getting back into using FM since about, oh, 1995 or so LOL

So far, I've managed to figure out all of my challenges on my own, but this one is driving me a little batty - and I just feel like I'm missing something really really simple.

OK So in a nutshell, i'm building a database for project management that includes a calendar where different types of events will have colour-coding so that they are easier to see.

Normally this would be very easy, but I wanted to add in the ability for the user to be able to create custom event types and a custom colour for the event.

I created a table "eventTypeTable" that has ID (auto-enter serial), eventType (text- like "meeting", "media event" etc), eventColour (number-basically just 1-20)

In my other table "calendarEvents" I create individual events  and have a field that is called eventType that uses a DropDown list "eventType".

eventType_fk drop down list is a list of the ID field of the eventTypeTable, showing secondary field only of eventType.

OK still with me?

So, the user should be able to create their own list of events and colours in one Layout using a portal to the eventTypeTable

In the calendarEvents they have a record of a new event where they use a pulldown menu to select the eventType.

in the calendarView layout, I have a series of portals and filters and stuff which I don't think I need to get in to at this point, but the key part is that i have an empty button that does nothing except uses conditional formatting to change the colour based on what the event type colour number is (well, what it SHOULD be anyway).