1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Mar 3, 2017 8:09 AM by fmpdude

SQL IDEs and FileMaker Compatibility

rohrkemper

Which SQL development tools are compatible with FileMaker 15?

I've successfully connected with RazorSQL 7.2.3.

I have some experience with Toad, SQLDeveloper, and SQL Workbench. Would any of these work, or are there other alternatives? I'm interested in compiling a list of alternatives, and at this point, don't need details about the advantages of each, though feel free to include that as well if you like.

• 1. Re: SQL IDEs and FileMaker Compatibility
          fmpdude

Razor is quite good and and, I agree, unfortunately, an external tool like this is necessary in my view for really working with data in FileMaker. The "Data Viewer"? Please. Forget it.

I mainly use my Java IDE to connect to FileMaker (Intellij IDEA). That way, I have any JDBC code in a code window, a (Real) live SQL view, and the rest of my rich IDE.

I have never compiled a list of JDBC-enabled database products since any product is only as fast as FMP's SQL performance, which, for some queries in relatively small data sets is not acceptable for enterprise applications I work with. For example, in only a 500,000-record table, a LIKE query (directly in FMP or via JDBC) can take up to 6 seconds! In MySQL, it's about 0.1 seconds. Or, in other words, FMP takes 59 times longer.

( (6-.1)/.1)) = 59.  Don't mean to sound negative, but that's my experience.

In the cases where I do SQL in FMP, which are limited due to the query performance in FMP, I would use the external SQL tool (really really needed) to prototype the query against the live FMP database. Once the query works, I would then move the query into FMP (avoiding the silly, unhelpful "?" messages and instead enjoying the IDE's real-time SQL code assist, etc.) to add replaceable parameters or otherwise finalize the query.