12 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2017 1:31 AM by crmorris2

Filtered lists from related records

crmorris2

Hi all,

I am quite new to filemaker but I am getting the hang of it, slowly.

I have 2 tables and they are related by a user id. What I want to do is get a list of records with a mix of fields from both tables.

I have no problem with getting the list, what I am having trouble with is filtering this list. I have tried creating a portal but it doesnt seem to work and only shows 1 record on the list but I can actually click through the records.

I have attached a few screenshots and hope it makes sense.

Help, please!

My tables: (ODBC Source with many more tables but these are the only ones I need data from)

tables.png

My list which I open with a script to only show records from a certain course (not finished the formatting of the layout as you can see)

list.png

Testing a portal on another layout. As you can see it has the records but only gives me one record in the list.

Portal test.png

Thanks in advance!

Craig

• 1. Re: Filtered lists from related records
          philmodjunk

Your relationship attempts to link an uninfexed, probably global user id field to an unindeced user id field. That won't work.

• 2. Re: Filtered lists from related records
            crmorris2

Hi, thanks for your reply.

Do you know what my best option would be for filtering the records without a portal?

I need to be able to filter gender/coutrny/completed date etc

Thanks

• 3. Re: Filtered lists from related records
              philmodjunk

Forget my last post. I missed the detail that these are ODBC sourced tables.

How is your layout set up?

is it based on the left hand table occurrence? On which of the other two occurrences is the portal based?

Is the relationship from layout table occurrence to portal table occurrence one to one or one to many?

What you describe would be correct if there is only one related portal record.