3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 3, 2017 9:14 AM by SteveMartino

using portals

kstyle

Hi

I am a complete novice in using a database and have been 'thrown in the deep end' by my boss who needs a simple one created and populated with a lot of data by the end of March.  I have been through a lot of online tutorials and can now set up tables, fields, relationships etc.  I can make a layout and I have been trying to put in portals but am coming unstuck here.

So a couple of questions:

Should I be able to use a portal on a layout that will allow me to enter data there that will be recorded on the relevant child table?

Can a portal use things like radio buttons?

If i put all the fields from a child table in the portal can I then use that layout to enter the data I need and it will be stored in the relevant table?

Also, can a checkbox be used in Find mode?  eg.  if I use the checkbox option for several fields can I later run a Find query what would include all the records where the checkbox contains '1'?

I would very greatly appreciate any comments and suggestions.

• 1. Re: using portals
          TSPigeon

kstyle:

Thank you for your post!

Should I be able to use a portal on a layout that will allow me to enter data there that will be recorded on the relevant child table?

A Portal is exactly for that. You draw a portal onto the layout and tell it what related table your layout table should display data from. As long as you have the relationship setup properly and the box checked to Allow New Record Creation via the relationship, you should be good to go.

Can a portal use things like radio buttons?

Yes. You can use any field type in a Portal. There are some objects that you can't put into a portal, such as another portal or Tab Control.

If i put all the fields from a child table in the portal can I then use that layout to enter the data I need and it will be stored in the relevant table?