9 Replies Latest reply on Mar 9, 2017 8:58 AM by beverly

Connecting FileMaker to other programs

andrew_a

So I'm relatively new to FileMaker and have created a database to track repairs and fines for laptops in a school district.  Currently we manually export information from our Student Information System and import it into the FileMaker database mentioned.  Is it possible to automate this process and if so how difficult would that be and how might I do that?

• 1. Re: Connecting FileMaker to other programs
          CamelCase_data

It all depends on what options are available in your Student Information System, but yes, in general this is possible. There is a wide array of technologies you can use, once again all depend on what's possible with the system you're interacting with. Can you perhaps provide some more information on your SIS?

• 2. Re: Connecting FileMaker to other programs
            andrew_a

Currently we are using Infinite Campus for our SIS.  However we will be moving to PowerSchool for our SIS starting this summer.  I'm not sure beyond that what capacities there are to connect to the SIS on that end.

• 3. Re: Connecting FileMaker to other programs
              beverly

It mostly depends on the permission you have to exchange data with the system (directly), instead of import/export. IT tends to be very protective (with reasons!) I work in direct connection ONLY when I also am the SQL dba (have admin access to the external database, too).

When I cannot have direct access and must import/export, I tend to use temporary tables (in FileMaker) for that process, as it's easier to get "matching" columns (names and types) between the two systems. The data "there" is not always the same as the data "here" and sometimes must have manipulation between the actual push/pull.

And it may be that your external source is set up with views in a way that does allow you direct exchange, but protects the data "here" & "there".