7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 11, 2017 8:35 AM by BruceRobertson

How to perform a "find" of the current or "active" record in a script?

_grantfk

Hello! This is my first post on this forum. While I'm not new to FM I have limited experience with writing scripts, and am now beginning the learning curve that will, hopefully, lead to better and more complex scripts to automate our more mundane tasks.

I hate to start my association with this forum off with such a seemingly simple question, but here goes...

I’m trying to keep from having a script run on a found set of more than one record. I can’t trust that the users will perform a find of a unique field before they enter data into a field that will trigger the script.

I'm sure I'm overthinking it, but I can’t figure out how to write a script step that performs a find of the current or "active" record as a first step? I would also like to restore the previous lookup on the last step to finish things up.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

• 1. Re: How to perform a "find" of the current or "active" record in a script?
          philmodjunk

I’m trying to keep from having a script run on a found set of more than one record.

If [ Get ( FoundCount ) > 1 ]

Peform find here

End IF

• 2. Re: How to perform a "find" of the current or "active" record in a script?
            Jason Wood

I interpreted your question differently than philmodjunk, I was thinking you were looking for:

If [ Get ( FoundCount ) = 1 ]

Do your script here

End If

But admittedly I'm unable to comprehend most of the question. If you didn't get the answer you were expecting, try explaining the process again in more detail.

• 3. Re: How to perform a "find" of the current or "active" record in a script?
              BruceRobertson

I'm not sure you have to do anything at all.

It would be helpful to see what the script actually does.

Can you post a copy? Or a copy of your file?

How is the script triggered? The user clicks a button?