9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 9, 2017 6:41 PM by gofmp15

GPS data

PaolaBouley

Hi,

I am a biologist and am working in a FMP database that allows me to log surveys (date, time location etc).  For each survey though I have multiple GPS locations to enter for any specific resources that I want to map.  For e.g. a certain plant.  If I wanted to list all the locations on the survey that I found a specific plant, how would I enter the list of GPS locations and have them connected to the survey record? 

What is the best way to go about entering this data so that I can easily then extract it later for use in Google Maps or GIS?  any tips most appreciated!  thank you. Paola

• 1. Re: GPS data
          user29424

If you are running FMP 12 or higher I would recommend using the Location script step on an iOS device such as an iPad or iPhone.

This returns the coordinates and you can then use them to pinpoint a location on a map.

See: Location

You can embed a web based map in a web viewer within FMP and apply your pins there using the coordinates within the map url:

See: html - Url to a google maps page to show a pin given a latitude / longitude? - Stack Overflow

Your structure would be a parent table that you could regard as your survey, then you would record your findings for each resource in a child table that would then be related to the survey. You can then list all the findings related to one survey in the the survey record either through a portal displaying the related child records or a virtual list generated by either an action or user triggered script.

See: Reviewing relationships types

• 2. Re: GPS data
            fmpdude

Interesting reply. Good info there.

• 3. Re: GPS data
              PaolaBouley

Thanks for the tips.  It's still not clear to me to how to be able to enter

multiple coordinates in a separate table yet have them linked directly to a

single survey in another table.

• 4. Re: GPS data
                philmodjunk

List ( )

ExecuteSQL( )