1 2 3 Previous Next 31 Replies Latest reply on Apr 3, 2017 10:51 AM by macfiles

Complete noob working on a database

macfiles

Hi Everyone,

I tried to look up what I need to do, but I'm unable to figure this out.

Firstly, I'd like to point out that I know absolutely nothing about filemaker but I've been tasked with creating a functional database for our department. (BTW I'm a purchasing agent.. not IT)

What I'm trying to do:

I need help figuring out what can link

Products > Workorders > Customers

So that the Products are searchable in the Workorders and those products also show up in (possibly a portal?) the Customer's information. I want this section to show information from the work order in relation to the customer. It needs to have the product sold.

I haven't adjusted this screen yet, because I don't know where to begin. I can't make a portal here unless the workorder screen showing the products somehow can link the products without a portal. I thought about using a drop down list, but there are too many products for that.

Plus, each one needs to have a cost.

Please! Any suggestions!

Also, please dumb it down a bit for me. I've been watching all the videos and took the "training course" that didn't teach me anything at all.

I basically don't know anything about this program but am doing my best!

Thank you all!!!

• 1. Re: Complete noob working on a database
          philmodjunk

You need to figure this out on paper in a bit more detail before you start working with the software. Maybe you've done that, but if so, you haven't put it in your first post here and so we need to ask some questions.

Customers---<Workorders    (---< means "one to many" )

it would seem obvious that for any given customer, there can be many work orders and that for any given work order, there can only be one customer. But if this is not the case for your business, please let us know.

Work Orders   ???   Products