1 2 Previous Next 19 Replies Latest reply on Apr 4, 2017 7:14 AM by beverly

Filemaker to SQL through ODBC connection

jeffwest2

I am totally new to FM, having worked in a SQL.My SSQL environment for years, the company I work for has recently started using FM for a specific purpose as a CRM system

I can see many questions on this and have followed instructions off a couple of them to try and get this working, to no avail, so here is what I have done.

I have an existing FM Pro 15 with a standard set up, I want to set this up so it connects to a SQL database as an ESS not as a full datasource, mainly for reporting externally into SSRS but also for ease of automating some data exports on a daily basis.

Following suggestions in older posts, I have set the odbc/jdbc settings to on, and have (at the moment) set to all users, although this will be restricted later if i get this working).

I have set up 2 odbc connections to my SQL database

1 in ODBC32 and 1 in odbc64, both are differently named, but connected to the same SQL database

I am now trying to set up a new external data source in FM, this i do by going to

File-Manage-External Data Source

Click New

Click ODBC

Click Specify at DSN, and this is the issue, I have nothing here to select, what am I doing wrong?

Any help with this would be really helpful as I need to get this working before we deploy a new FM system live in a couple of weeks.

• 1. Re: Filemaker to SQL through ODBC connection
          Johan Hedman

First off start to read free FileMaker Training Series to understand what FileMaker is and how to work with it

FileMaker Training Series | FileMaker

Then when you have finished that you can read more about ODBC and ESS in FileMaker

Accessing External SQL Data Sources (ESS) Overview and Troubleshooting | FileMaker 

• 2. Re: Filemaker to SQL through ODBC connection
            jeffwest2

JOHAN