1 2 Previous Next 22 Replies Latest reply on Apr 11, 2017 1:12 PM by philmodjunk

Multiple Tabs like Excel?

stoster38

Hi,

I'm new to Filemaker and did some google searching and looked in the communities here. Maybe my search terms were not the appropriate ones. I have an Excel Worksheet with multiple tabs. Each tab has the same fields but the specific data is different for each one. I don't want to have a separate database for each Excel tab. Is there a way to have 1 overall database with individual tabs or instances? I appreciate any help!!

Thanks!!

• 1. Re: Multiple Tabs like Excel?
          beverly

FileMaker has Layouts that can be designed as forms, lists or table-grid. Layouts are associated with Data collections defined as tables and fields. It gets more complex. You can look at examples provided with install (trial version if not purchased yet). You can even google 'filemaker' and choose images to see example screen shots.

beverly

Sent from miPhone

• 2. Re: Multiple Tabs like Excel?
            philmodjunk

"don't want to have a separate database for each Excel tab."

"database" is an inexact term in Filemaker. The word could refer to a single table in a file, a single file with multiple tables or a set of files that all have many tables but which have been designed to function together as a complete system.

"Is there a way to have 1 overall database with individual tabs or instances?"

FileMaker is not a Spreadsheet App. It will not do things exactly the same as Excel. In FileMaker, each row of data is a record and each column is a field. So the answer to your question is "yes but..." Yes you can pull up different groups of records at a time on the same layout, but no, it probably won't look like tabbed Excel worksheets. You have a great many more options for flexibly pulling together different groups of records for data entry, reporting, and/or analysis in FileMaker than you do with Excel.

• 3. Re: Multiple Tabs like Excel?