AnsweredAssumed Answered

Nutrition Database Calculations

Question asked by chrishill on Apr 11, 2017
Latest reply on Jun 23, 2017 by chrishill

Hi everyone,

Newbie here...

I work for a small (2 people) animal feed business. Previously I worked as a ruminant formulator for a national company that used industry specific software for this kind of thing- well everything actually.

When I started here I created some spreadsheets to do the job, which are functional but as we (hopefully) grow are not going to be scaleable.

I've only started working with filemaker in the past few months on and off as time allows, and so far by lots of googling and youtube watching I've managed to create a customers / contacts, contract and sales orders database, and got the bare bones of a stock control system, but my real priority at the moment is getting a formulation / nutritional database set up.

Hopefully my screenshots below should help to explain in detail where I have got to so far:

Following the guidance from this thread How to build a nutritional database , I have created this:

(You'll see that Materials and Products are different instances of the same table - we sell both the raw materials and the mixed products - I don't think this should affect the fundamentals of what I want to achieve.)

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 15.16.33.png

Which enables me to easily add new nutrients if required, like so:

The Screenshot below being based on the table 'Nutrients'

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 15.17.29.png

The screenshot below is a layout based on the table 'Materials' with a portal to table 'Nutrient Matrix' where i can enter and edit the nutritional data of my materials:

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 15.17.50.png

My final screenshot is a layout based on the table 'products' with the left hand portal being 'formulae' and the right hand one pointing to 'nutrients'.