9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 12, 2017 9:49 PM by user28653

set field to all records of a found set

user28653

Hello All, I am stuck on the following problem.

I have a group of records (several thousand) with the field "title", contained in this field is a model number.  I need to parse out the model number to a  called "model number".  The problem is that the model number is located is all over the place in "title" so parsing has proved to be as much work as just manual sorts.  

So I had an idea that i might be able to script it using find mode.  I have a master list of all the possible "model numbers" so my thought is to loop through that list, get a found set for each model number in the list, then on all records in the "found set" set the field "model number" equal to the search variable for all the records in the found set.

I hope I explained this clearly if not please don't hesitate for clarification.

• 1. Re: set field to all records of a found set
          Johan Hedman

Sounds like you have a good idea. I would use

Loop

If ( Patterncount ( YourTitleField ; "SpecificModelValue" ) = 1 )

Set Field ( YourModelFIeld ; "Value 1" )

Else if ( Patterncount ( YourTitleField ; "SpecificModelValue2" ) = 1 )

Set Field ( YourModelFIeld ; "Value 1" )

xxxx

and so on

Go to record next, exit after last

End Loop

• 2. Re: set field to all records of a found set
            Vincent_L

Put all your known models in a table ModelTable, where the model is stored in the model field

Provided your maintable is called mainTable, in which you've a record key (like a SKU) you do this

use the power of ExecuteSQL

ExecuteSQL(

"SELECT A.\"SKU\",B.\"model\" FROM \"MainTable\" A

JOIN \"ModelTable\" B ON A.\"title\" LIKE '%'+B.\"model\"+'%'

WHERE  A.\"SKU\" IN ('SKU01','SKU02','SKU03') AND B.\"model\" IS NOT NULL";char(9);"¶")

Be careful as the model have to be exactly as is in the title, that's case sensitive. If you want case insentivity, do this instead

ExecuteSQL(