7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2017 6:16 AM by philmodjunk

Calculating student progress with many assignments and attempts

bdenne

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to read my query!

I am a music teacher and I am trying to bring FileMaker into the teaching of my students in order to differentiate instruction and manage the data that is created.

--------

Here is the challenge:

There are many students.

There are many assignments.

Students have many attempts at those assignments.

I need to find the highest score from all the attempts at each assignment and add them together so that the total reflects only the highest score from each assignment.

Example:

Billy does assignment 1 and gets 3 stars

Billy does assignment 2 and gets 4 stars

Billy does assignment 1 again and gets 5 stars

The total should be 9 stars (not 12).

-------

How my database is currently structured:

Student table - contains names of students

Assignment table - contains lists of assignements

Performance table - acts as a join table for students and assignments.  Each performance record references a single student and a single assignment from the related tables and contains a score for that performance.

Attached is a graphic view of a layout that I created to display this data.  The label is associated with the student table and contains a portal that pulls from the assignment table and the performance table to display each performance attempt.

I would like to keep the record of each performance attempt, but only count the best ones toward each student's progress.

-------

Challenges -

I am trying to get away from the flat file approach that I am using currently because of the number of students (450) and assignments (600) made the large (270,000 cell) spreadsheet unmanageable.  I am hoping to construct a solution that is easily scalable for numbers of students and assignments.

Thank you for any help you can provide!

Sincerely,

Ben Denne