5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 16, 2017 11:13 AM by mrosenhek

Custom Web Publishing Help

mrosenhek

We have a mobile solution that is built and working fine. Initially I thought we could use WD but now realize that the licencing cost would be prohibitive. I understand that custom web publishing will eliminate the licensing cost, but I have no experience with this. Not even sure where to begin.

I'd like to have a conversation with somebody that has this experience. Thank you.

-Moe

• 1. Re: Custom Web Publishing Help
          beverly

I shall reply as Web Developer who works (has worked) with CWP and IWP/WD (even other databases & web apps). I can do anything (well within reason) with CWP, because I have the skill set. My client(s) who has the desire to make changes & additions, does not have that 'web' skill set for CWP. But client can make some really good WD layouts & scripts (based on my tutoring and templates) that don't need my help (most of the time). The difference is paying me to do the work and do it when it's needed (usually yesterday) if there is a change/addition/need.

But there's an expense (me) with CWP. Pay for my skills/time (I'm good, so not cheap); the extra hardware (possibly), syncing solutions (possibly), plug-ins (possibly), and more? I may not be available when needed. Weigh all that against the cost of the licensing for WD.

beverly

• 2. Re: Custom Web Publishing Help
            wimdecorte

Completely second what beverly states.

While you can eliminate the licensing cost with CWP you will incur other costs.  Either in learning curve / time if you want to become proficient with it yourself or in development cost if you outsource it.

The first choice you'll want to make is the technology stack you want to use (and invest in).  Very often people default to PHP since that is supported by FM.  But there are many others just as suitable.  .NET, Ruby. JS,...