1 2 Previous Next 28 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2017 8:59 PM by philmodjunk

Working Day Calculation

sam0723

Hi i am new to filemaker.

Recently, i am working on date calculation.

if i would like to get the target date, which is target date = starting date + two working day.

so how could i calculate the target date? starting date could be chosen by user.

I am using Filemaker 15. Thank you.

• 1. Re: Working Day Calculation
          fmpdude

Calculating working days can be involved.

Are weekends working days?  In many environments people work over the weekends.

What about holidays? Which holidays? There are many, many holidays. Looking at holidays on the web, it's easy to find over 100 different holidays you might need to consider.

For me, computing workdays was involved enough where I did it outside FileMaker and then used FileMaker to get that future date (or number of days).  Unfortunately, FileMaker's date functions are very rudimentary (sadly lacking) and, for me at least, writing code like this is in the "Script Workspace" would be extremely frustrating also.

Regardless of your approach, however, I would first DEFINE what you mean by a "workday". Consider creating a table in FMP with all the holidays. Then write code (a script) using "weekends", if applicable, and your holidays from the holiday table to get two days from now.

My program says that there are 19 workdays between 3/15/17 and 4/30/17 considering weekends and the holidays I am tracking. Your program would be different, probably.

• 2. Re: Working Day Calculation
            sam0723

Thank you. Working day means Monday to Friday excluding weekends and holidays. For holidays, it should be holiday of my city. Could i take the data from the web as it may change annually. If i create a holiday table, i may need to edit the table annually.

• 3. Re: Working Day Calculation
              Menno

You can calculate the next date after x working days with the next formula

Let ( [