4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 26, 2017 4:33 AM by FrankvanderMost

Question from new user.

arjunamltd

Hi All, I'm new in filemaker, and english is not my native language so please bear with me

Currently i just finished tutorial from guy stevens (udemy.com) and started to built for my own.

There are several things that need to ask:

1.  To my understand, filemaker is not like Fox Pro that allowed people to compile into standalone application (cmiiw).

But is there a way to make it less like document and make it more like application? I meant, to use the database app that we already built with filemaker we need to open it with filemaker application, after that we still need to press "exit-layout". Can (at least) when we double click the filemaker file, itu will open in "layout-mode" instead of "edit-mode"?

2. I need to put signature (scan file) to my invoice, can we do that? I manage to make pull down choices of my employee names, but the name need to link to spesific signature file so when i print the invoice it will show the signature file instead of just the name.

Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 2.51.15 PM.png

Many thanks before

• 1. Re: Question from new user.
          FrankvanderMost

Hi arjunamltd,

1) To generate stand-alone applications you need FileMaker Pro Advanced, but for the time being and considering your other questions, I do not recommend you to go there right now. It brings advanced issues regarding updating the app that you may not be ready for yet.

I'm not sure which exit-layout button you mean but to present things to users in specific ways, check the 'File Options' of your database file. 'Switch to layout' may be what you are looking for and the 'OnFirstWindowOpen' trigger setting allows you to launch a script through which you can arrange (among other things) how the user experience will be at startup.