6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2017 5:48 AM by everyman

Performing a find in another FM File

gedkins

Hi,

I have a Master Item FM file that is a series of items we fabricate or buy. I have Purchase Requisition FM file that users create records in to buy things found in the Item Master file.  I am trying to allow the users to update Item Master records (not create new ones)  when working in the PR file. I tried to create a script in the PR file that will grab a value in the PR file (a part number) and then open the MI file and perform a find on that value. When I use the Open File script line it opens the file, but apparently the next steps in the script (Show All Records and Enter Find mode) actually executes against the PR file and not the newly opened MI file.  How do I transfer execution of a script running in one file to another file?  I suspect its fairly simple, but perhaps it is not.

• 1. Re: Performing a find in another FM File
          coherentkris

You should learn how to use external data sources.

It allows you to share tables between files so you dont have to go through all those steps to get two files to work together.

FileMaker Pro 15 Help

Another possibility is to merge the two files into one.

finds are context specific ( what is the active window and what Table Occurence is the layout in the window bound to when find is performed?)

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Performing a find in another FM File
            philmodjunk

With that external data source, you can add an occurrence of that table in your PR file and then a layout in your PR file based on it. Your script could then go to that layout to find records, but there are other ways to access data in that table that do not use a find that you might also consider.

• 3. Re: Performing a find in another FM File
              gedkins