8 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2017 7:23 PM by philmodjunk

Using charts

kstyle

Hi,  I am very new to FileMaker and using database in general.  Firstly thanks to those who helped me with a portal question.

My next problem encountered is how to create a chart (although I have found some great tutorials I still can't make my chart work)

Scenario:

I have a table with 8 fields (each field is a yes/no checkbox value option to occurrence of that item in a surgical procedure)

I need to total all the records for each field (I can do this I believe using Count? They are all set as checkboxes with Yes/No values)

Then I need to put all these totals on a single chart to show the total count for each field item and the percentage value of the whole set.

Can someone please help tell me if this is possible and how to set it up? 

I also need to create a report that shows just the total count for each field in a easy to read layout.

My knowledge of scripting etc is extremely limited but I am very happy to follow instructions and tutorials to learn.  So far I haven't been able to find how to solve the above situation.

• 1. Re: Using charts
          philmodjunk

You've got the right attitude!

Are your check box fields set up with both a box for yes and a box for no?

• 2. Re: Using charts
            kstyle

Ah !  I just realised I set the checkbox for a Yes box only.  (There is no "No" box in this layout)

• 3. Re: Using charts
              kstyle

Therefore the count of each set of records in that field would be based on a value of 1?

• 4. Re: Using charts
                philmodjunk

A single check box is better than two in this case as Yes = not empty while No = empty.

Count won't work in this context. If the Yes check box is selected, Count ( CheckBoxField ) simply yields 1, meaning that the field in the current record is not empty.

To get a count across a found set of records define a "count of" summary field.