1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2017 5:14 PM by charmcello

More advanced CWP guide? (Need to handle checkbox fields)

charmcello

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Filemaker PHP API and have almost completed development of a web registration form application.

One of my remaining tasks is to take user input from a checkbox field and store that in a FMP database record. I'm having trouble finding step-by-step information on how to handle that.

I have the FileMaker® Server 15 Custom Web Publishing Guide (fms15_cwp_guide.pdf) but it doesn't contain details about storing checkbox field data. Where could I find a step-by-step guide to handle specific situations not covered in the the CWP Guide? (And do you know where I could find info about handling checkboxes, specifically?)

Thanks in advance.

mikebeargie

beverly

• 1. Re: More advanced CWP guide? (Need to handle checkbox fields)
          mikebeargie

Checkbox data in filemaker is stored as a return delimited list. So you just have to parse your form results into a return delimited list before you store it in FileMaker.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: More advanced CWP guide? (Need to handle checkbox fields)
            charmcello

Thanks for the quick reply!!

So I use implode() to turn a PHP array into a string? How do I get the return delimiter?

• 3. Re: More advanced CWP guide? (Need to handle checkbox fields)
              beverly

Yes, or if you need to store otherwise (related records), the data may be able to be parsed after a single field insert or you use PHP to loop the values to create the records.

1. how is your form defined with the checkboxes? can you post a few lines that are

<input type="checkbox" ...

2. how do you want it stored?

the "advanced" guide may be HTML/JavaScript/CSS and/or PHP that goes beyond what the actual API classes handle. there are infinite combinations, so without a little more detail from you, it's not precise to say what to do.

beverly