7 Replies Latest reply on May 5, 2017 3:22 AM by fmpdude

Database modeling question

jaykoo511

I am a newbie so please have mercy on me.

I want to score students' tests using FileMaker.  Here is what I envision:  Import student responses from a test with 200 questions and then compare the students' responses against the master answer list.  There are different master answer lists for different tests.

I am assuming that a master answer list should be a record in a table of just master answer lists.  For example, if there are 15 different versions of the test, there should be 15 records in this table, each representing an answer key for a different test.

I am also assuming that students' responses should be kept in a different table with similar fields as the table described above.

Here is my question:  How do i compare a record from the student's response with the record from the master answer list, if the data is in different tables?

• 1. Re: Database modeling question
          philmodjunk

The only real difference between a questionnaire and a test is that tests have correct answers. So you can search this forum for posts on Questionnaires and Surveys to find descriptions of data models you might use. These examples have a table of questions where each record represents one question. A field in this table could record the correct answer for that question--unless you want to set up multiple choice questions where the question is the same, but the order of the possible answers differs in different versions of the test.

I am assuming that a master answer list should be a record in a table of just master answer lists.  For example, if there are 15 different versions of the test, there should be 15 records in this table, each representing an answer key for a different test.