6 Replies Latest reply on May 5, 2017 3:06 PM by jeff23

Auto Update Pictures in Containers?

jeff23

Hi,

I'm a total FM newbie...only hours old! I've succeeded in creating a form that auto populates the Personal info fields from another table (Subject Info).The auto populate function kicks in when I type the exact name referenced in this table into a new record. I'm using the Looked-up Value command to achieve this. The empty white container in the middle is a place for a photo. Unfortunately, I didn't include photos when I created the Subject Info table. Over 200 records later, I'm trying to force FM to re-auto populate the image container with the newly added photos in the Subject Info table. It only works with new records. How can I add these photos to the existing records?

I'm using FM 14 Advanced.

Many thanks!

• 1. Re: Auto Update Pictures in Containers?
          psijmons

Since you are really at the beginning, familiarize yourself with some basic concepts of a relational database. In the long run it will help you enormously and prevent some early design mistakes. Still, we all made them at some point and took the consequences. Each error makes you more experienced.

In a relational database, try to have a single item entered in only one place, then display that field in other (table) layouts via a connection, usually via some ID that is primary key in one table and foreign ID key in the other table.

Then ask yourself the question: is this a one-to-many relation, one-to-one, many-to-one or many-to-many.

For example, a class may have several students and a student can participate in many classes.

Just draw it to clarify your basic schema, then try to mimick that in the relation graph

I see several fields in both tables that are the same. That should not be necessary.

You do not have to "lookup" these fields, you can just display a field from a related record.