AnsweredAssumed Answered

Reset field contents based on newer file

Question asked by lowergroovemusic on May 17, 2017
Latest reply on May 17, 2017 by lowergroovemusic

Hi,

I am new to FM Pro, watching You Tube videos etc, but am getting confused re. scripting etc and was hoping someone could help with something that I am going in circles with. All help very much appreciated.

For background. I have two tables -  one called Tracks the other called Audio. Within a Tracks layout I have a portal that shows the Audio table based on a Track ID (Primary key: Tracks) to Track ID (Foreign key: Audio). Therefore, a track can have many audio files associated with it.

One of the Audio table fields is called Latest Version, the contents of which are driven by a value list with the options Yes/No. For each track, only one of the related, audio file, Latest Version fields should be set to "Yes". Please also note that the audio file I might want to upload at any time may not be the most-up-to date version of the track - but a legacy copy that I wish to store.

The following is the envisaged User Experience I am battling with...

• From the layout, showing the portal, I click on a button - within a portal record - to upload a new audio file;
  • This results in a pop up window which asks me if this is the most recent version of the track;
  • If I select "No" then the Latest Version field is set to no and the track upload proceeds and returns to the original portal view - that displays the new record;
  • If I select "Yes" then the script checks to ensure no other Latest Version fields are set to "Yes". If not the upload continues and returns to the original portal view - that displays the new record;

However...