6 Replies Latest reply on May 22, 2017 8:12 AM by dtsvirinko

Upgrading to FileMaker 16 Mid-Development

dtsvirinko

Hello Everyone!

I'm an in-house developer. And I'm currently in the middle of developing a new solution. I'm itching to upgrade to FileMaker Pro 16 Advanced, not so much for new user-facing features, but for new developer features, such as the layout object panel, updated Edit Expression window, resolved issue with side-panel width in Scripts Workspace, etc.

I have several solutions running on FileMaker Server 15 and all of my users are running FileMaker Pro 15. I'm not ready to upgrade the sever and user computers to 16.

Will I shoot myself in the foot by upgrading my FileMaker Pro Advanced to version 16?

Any thoughts/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

• 1. Re: Upgrading to FileMaker 16 Mid-Development
          fmpdude

Not sure this is the exact answer to the question you're asking, but the only issues I've read about here were slower than expected sortValues() and uniqueValues() functions' performance (now being looked at by FMI development). There was also a possible issue with one of the new Crypt functions not giving the same result as BE (also being looked at by FMI development). I could have missed them, but I haven't read about any show stoppers.

And, others have reported lots of fixed bugs.

I'm getting ready to take the plunge myself...overall, 16 sounds like a solid initial release.

• 2. Re: Upgrading to FileMaker 16 Mid-Development
            dtsvirinko

Thank you for your comment, fmpdude. The issues you pointed out will not impact my current development project.

My biggest concern is that I've started the development of my current project in 15 and once I'm done my users may be using the solution in FileMaker 15. So, by upgrading to 16 part way through the development of this solution, will I create problems for myself down the road when I deploy?

• 3. Re: Upgrading to FileMaker 16 Mid-Development