7 Replies Latest reply on May 24, 2017 10:58 AM by Mike_Mitchell

Starting from scratch....

wb12

Hi, I am new to FileMaker and little confused with the FM products: FileMaker Go, Web Direct, FileMaker Pro, FileMaker Pro (for connection), FileMaker Pro Advanced, FileMaker Server, FileMaker Cloud. Not sure which one is service or software or maybe already included in server. Not sure how they work but seem to be very powerful. I am also confused with licensing..which product required license and which one not?

Here is what I want to achieve:

1. I would like to use my current .fp7 files and convert them to .fmp12 format using FileMaker Pro 16 which is the only available software I can purchase from FileMaker store

2. Make the database available to others via web. How this can be achieve?

3. Are there any licences that I would need to buy?

I'm looking for some advise which path I should choose to get the best results

thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Starting from scratch....
          coherentkris

you need FileMaker Pro (advanced is highly recomended) to develop the solution and Filemaker server to make it available on the web. You might also budget for some training

• 2. Re: Starting from scratch....
            Mike_Mitchell

Welcome to FileMaker.

None of the FileMaker products, except for FileMaker Cloud, is a service. They are all licensed products. FileMaker Go is free of charge (for iOS devices). WebDirect is not a product; it's a feature of FileMaker Server. FileMaker Pro is the basic client for Mac or Windows. FileMaker Pro for users is the version of FileMaker Pro that only operates when attached to its licensed server (it's part of the FileMaker Licensing for Teams). FileMaker Pro Advanced is the "developer" version of the client that includes some additional features (like the Script Debugger, Data Viewer, Developer tools, etc.)