6 Replies Latest reply on May 28, 2017 8:15 PM by saildog55

Medications Record

saildog55

Hi Everybody

Ok, so I am an FM newbie. I have built this system that already is in use and has become mission critical.

The system has a number of components that I have persevered with and now work well. Or at least it seems they do to me and the team, probably you would all be horrified. Nevertheless I now need to add new functionality but I am stumped.

We are a non-profit organisation and the system is used in the disability sector.

The system has clients who have medications. That is a simple one to many relationship. So far so good - easy! I need to record medications taken and that is very hard. Conceptually I add more columns in the medications portal - Date/time of last dose plus date/time of up to 4 doses per day (on the current day) arranged by time 0-6, 6-12, 12-18 and 18-24. But the timings are another relationship being medication (one) to many (doses). I then need to be able to produce a report by selected period, showing what medications were taken and when.

I would be very grateful for some help on this.

Best

Rod

• 1. Re: Medications Record
          Jason Wood

So you currently have 2 tables: Clients and ClientMedications

Since you say, "I then need to be able to produce a report by selected period, showing what medications were taken and when.", there is no way you can put this information in one of your existing tables because there are many doses for every Client and every ClientMedication. You need a third table that I might call "MedicationLog". Whenever a medication is administered, a record would be created in this table.

MedicationLog will need a timestamp field, and a foreign key field to insert the ClientMedication primary key.