8 Replies Latest reply on May 26, 2017 8:49 AM by fmpdude

overlap rate of an employee

sam0723

Hello, i am new to filemaker. i am working on a project of leave management system. is it possible in filemaker?

My idea is creating a employee table, a vacation table.

employee table stores the data of an employee and the vacation table stores the data of leave of employee

how could i calculate the overlap rate(with other colleague) of an employee in a department.

Any approach is welcome

• 1. Re: overlap rate of an employee
          fmpdude

Business rule: Overlap rate.

So, for clarification:

1. Please define that business rule first.

2. Include an example of two employees' data and the results you want to get.

• 2. Re: overlap rate of an employee
            sam0723

Sorry for unclear description.

overlap rate = number of people in a particular department taking leave on particular day/total number of people in a department *100%

For example,

John: take annual leave on 23/5/2017 to 28/5/2017

Kitty: take annual leave on 25/5/2017 to 1/6/2017

Total number of people in their department= 10

so the rate should be 2/10*100% =20% on 24/5/2017

is it better to calculate the rate per day?

i know there is another approach that in a particular date range say from 23/5/2017 to 1/6/2017, there are 2 of them taking a leave so the rate should be 20%

which one is better in FileMaker?

• 3. Re: overlap rate of an employee
              fmpdude

That's a good clarification. Thanks.

So, how about a simple ExecuteSQL statement?

(click on image below if you can't see all of it.)

Here, I've "hard-coded" the start and end dates (last two parameters on the right of the ExecuteSQL), but in your application, if this is correct, you would use fields so you could enter ad-hoc dates to find employees that fall into the desired date range.