9 Replies Latest reply on May 29, 2017 6:52 PM by dswoodley

Blue highlights

dswoodley

Any response to what is probably a total noob question is appreciated.  I am trying to understand the difference in behaviors between clicking in fields in Browse mode.    Clicking in some fields with text causes the field in focus to select the entire contents and highlight it.   Click in others with text brings the cursor to the end of the text in the field without highlighting it.  Which means in some fields to enter additional text I have to click twice and others I only click once.  Why does FMP do this?  Can it be set to consistently set the cursor at the end of the text without highlighting?

• 1. Re: Blue highlights
          dswoodley

FMP 15 btw. it does this in starter solutions and my own solutions.

• 2. Re: Blue highlights
            erolst

You can set the behaviour to "select entire contents" on field entry in the rightmost tab of the Inspector palette. This setting is individual for each field object on your layout, so you first need to select a field.

• 3. Re: Blue highlights
              dswoodley

That does not affect the behavior.  Both kinds of fields I describe are set to "select entire contents".

• 4. Re: Blue highlights
                philmodjunk

Are all of the fields in question edit boxes or have some been formatted as drop down lists or pop up menus? Do any have script triggers?

• 5. Re: Blue highlights
                  dswoodley

There is a tendency that drop down or other autofill fields exhibit exhibit the highlighting of all text on the first click, but there are also some free entry fields that exhibit the same behavior. 

• 6. Re: Blue highlights
                    philmodjunk