13 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2017 7:59 AM by cliffribeiro

Business questions on Filemaker and developing solutions.

cliffribeiro

Hey guys,

My background. I was always computer literate, but never wanted to work with computers professionally. Took on a different career. Many years down the road this led me to opening my own business. Upon opening, I very quickly realized the importance of data – and “good” data at that, to maximize business potential and subsequently human potential. After turning to the available solutions for our industry I noticed how all the platforms geared towards us left way too much to be desired.

I investigated and realized that maybe I could do this. I looked into both filemaker and access and the more traditional path sql/php etc and fell into filemaker for whatever reason. Well it looked prettier, and was relatively quick to learn and deploy something significant. We were on our knees for a solution.

So I started learning how to develop a database and in the process – develop our own. After many, many hours of online training, and many days and weeks developing and building a real cohesive product - I've come to love developing. I went through both beginner and advanced filemaker training on Lynda multiple times, as well as multiple online courses on database theory - normalization, concatenation, ERD diagrams – (this was the most valuable out of all of it. Actually theorizing and putting down all the “real” world semantics of anything!) I was going on a data trip

Now I’m wondering how to make this new skill a viable source of income. I have since developed a pretty complex and in-depth solution for my business and it works well but has its quirks, which seems to be with all complex solutions.