14 Replies Latest reply on Jun 1, 2017 8:09 AM by fmpdude

User-defined sql function on a layout

mainframe

What is the best practice that a user can define/execute a 'user defined SQL' and the result gets written to a flat file or a table for export later on?

e.g.

SELECT *  FROM CUST WHERE  _NAME LIKE 'BEN'

I am not an SQL expert but wanna open the doors so a user can define his/her own SQLs and the output  records gets at the end to a text file ...

• 1. Re: User-defined sql function on a layout
          beverly

Presumptions are that the users can write a query correctly (know the name of the tables/fields) and that it will return an acceptable result.

Start here for the function ExecuteSQL():

The "sqlQuery" part can be written into a field by your users and then you must push the values into the function to evaluate. You must also handle the possibilities for errors.

See how I did this (get the pdf and sample files):

Beverly

• 2. Re: User-defined sql function on a layout
            mainframe

Thanks beverly. Those who wanna use the function I try to implement will know SQLs ...

What I wanna provide is a table where a user can store all his SQLs for retrieval and execution:

e.g. he/she enters only :

SELECT NAME FROM \"RAK.SEK0200\" WHERE ACTION='NO' ORDER BY NAME

instead of

"SELECT NAME FROM \"RAK.SEK0200\" WHERE ACTION='NO' ORDER BY NAME"  ;";";"¶"

as A result of this, the found values should then be exported to text file ... for further processing...

My issue is to to execute the SQL:

set variabel $SQL = value  "ExecuteSQL (" &

Char(34) &

SQL.GENERATE.REPOSITORY::SQL_STORED &

Char(34) &

"   ;" &

Char(34) & ";" & Char(34) &

";" & Char(34) & Char(182) & Char(34)

&")"

Using set variable $EXEC_SQL; value $SQL does not work. In the hard coded format it does.

I am not even sure if that is possible at all the way it is coded.

• 3. Re: User-defined sql function on a layout
              beverly