6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2017 10:52 AM by gbenna

pair entries of two databases and share information.

gbenna

I have two databases with users names, addresses, email in each entry.  I want to match up the the entries (1 to 1, 2 to 2, etc.) of each database and share the info between them.  There are fields for match information in each database entry.  I am complete novice, any ideas?

I am including a picture of the database layout

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 10.23.24 AM.png

• 1. Re: pair entries of two databases and share information.
          Jaymo

Trying to automate the merging of the two databases is going to be difficult using an import or a script. It really requires a human to make judgements about what information is different and the same. I would import the data into one database and then use the duplicate search feature to find duplicates. The exclamation point finds duplicates but can only be used on one field. You'll need to create a calculation field for searching. I usually use the following:

name_first & " " & name_last & " " & LeftWords(address1; 1)

The LeftWords function grabs just the number from the address to account for any spelling differences (e.g. Street, St, St.).

Once you have found duplicates, you can sort the database and the duplicates will all be next to each other. Someone at that point can go through the list and decide how to merge them. Make a backup before going through the duplicates, just in case.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: pair entries of two databases and share information.
            beverly

Plus one on the 'difficult'! I've seen comparisons where the names are slightly different: 'Bev' not 'Beverly' and of course these are not going to match. Using Jaymo's advice, I'd still use these results as "best guess" and put the human factor in there to verify all matches, too.

Beverly

• 3. Re: pair entries of two databases and share information.
              Malcolm