12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 6, 2017 7:13 PM by bigtom

FM Advance Standalone Conversion

tleitzke

I recently got FM Pro 16 Advance, and I want to make several apps standalone. I watched a video on it, ant it worked fine. But is there a way to make the "install" process easier for users? It creates a folder with loads of extra files the user should probably not mess with- and I doubt that I could make it all a single .exe file to run from and place anywhere. I am also not a fan of the final closing box after closing the window (rather, it should open when the window first opens). I am very new to the advanced tools, and could not find much on exactly what I would think I need (which I do not know).

In the process, I do know I should (and do) hide all tool bars and such that could make someone ruin the file some way or another.

This is a rather open question, but I am looking for information on how I can better finalize an app and make it standalone.

• 1. Re: FM Advance Standalone Conversion
          bigtom

Please note that Runtimes (standalone) are deprecated and will eventually stop working with future OSs.

you can control the install with an installer application. Look into that.

• 2. Re: FM Advance Standalone Conversion
            tleitzke

How else can I make my apps stand alone to not require Filemaker's expensive install for my technicians' usage?

• 3. Re: FM Advance Standalone Conversion
              TKnTexas55

It is not that they will stop working with the OS, it is that future Filemaker Pro versions will no longer be able to create new one.  So, a runtime created with Filemaker 17 may still be running on Windows 12 when Filemaker 20 is the current version.  

This is how I understood it. 

• 4. Re: FM Advance Standalone Conversion
                planteg

Well what bigtom said is right... well 50% right: