8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 9, 2017 7:09 AM by philmodjunk

Invoice Report

sam0723

Hi, i am new to filemaker. Now, i am working on the invoice system. My original idea is to create a invoice and invoice line item table(portal) to allow generation of the invoice

For example,

Record 1

Invoice number

name

Portal

catagory    wording     amount

so the invoice report will be based on the invoice line item and the summary field could calculate the total of all items with same invoice number.

i have made a various version for several languages that means i create 6 tables and corresponding line item tables to store the data separately.

Now, my boss would like to have a summary report of the clients(based on the invoice table). so my question is do i need to rewrite the whole app.

my first thought is to combine all the tables into 1 so it is much easy to handle the summary report.

welcome to any approach. Thank you. i am using filemaker 15.

The summary report is like

date          invoice number      total of each invoice    settlement

subtotal

• 1. Re: Invoice Report
          erolst

sam0723 wrote:

i have made a various version for several languages that means i create 6 tables and corresponding line item tables to store the data separately.

my first thought is to combine all the tables into 1 so it is much easy to handle the summary report.

welcome to any approach. Thank you. i am using filemaker 15.

Definitely use a single table!

If you create a Language table, you can give each customer and/or invoice a foreign language key, then reference the appropriate vocabulary from a third table, where you can store words or entire phrases. With the correct setup, you can also easily have multi-language Product/Services names.

Ideally, you also only need a single layout for invoices and reports.

Try to think of the UI elements that you need in your layouts as another kind of data.

• 2. Re: Invoice Report
            sam0723