5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2017 2:47 PM by LisaRose

Two server deployment

gobimano

I need to know how the user can access the worker machine with FileMaker server 16

For example :-

I have a FM 16 Server whose master machine ip is 192.168.2.16

I have worker machine1 with ip 192.168.2.17 , worker machine2 with ip 192.168.2.18 , worker machine3 with ip 192.168.2.19 , worker machine4 with ip 192.168.2.20 and worker machine5 with ip 192.168.2.21.

Your clients only know the master machine ip address. If they access via any browser how they will be redirected to worker machine ip.

Please explain.

• 1. Re: Two server deployment
          bigtom

FMS 16 Master is aware of the ip address of all the worker machines and manages redirects to the worker machines to balance the work load. FM advises not accessing worker machines directly as it can cause some sort of issues.

• 2. Re: Two server deployment
            bigtom

I did a test with two worker machines. The master will not support any Web Direct clients if you have any worker machines deployed. The master seems to balance the load pretty evenly. When you hit the 100 connection limit on the workers FMS stops taking WD connections (even if you have licensed more connections) and returns "A server with the specified hostname could not be found."

The redirect is seamless to the user. The redirection used about 5-7% of the CPU resources on a 4 core server maintaining a connection activity once per second. I would expect this 2.5-3.5% per worker machine to be the same for all 5. So maybe a max of 17.5% CPU use on the master.

FMS is pretty good about dropping idle connections as the workers start to fill up.

• 3. Re: Two server deployment
              LisaRose