1 2 3 Previous Next 68 Replies Latest reply on Jul 11, 2017 3:49 PM by badox

Shift log database

badox

Hi, I'm completely new to FileMaker, I've been trying for the past couple weeks to create a "shift log database" for my shift to keep track of completed tasks and overall team productivity.

I've been unsuccessful in all attempt, I've recently resorted in creating an Excel database, but I've also been unsuccessful in importing the Excel database into FileMaker. I'm not getting the dropdown list with employees to operate the way it does in Excel...

Could anyone please help me with creating "Shift log database" in FileMaker...

• 1. Re: Shift log database
          philmodjunk

Any number of people here can and will help you, but in order to do so, you need to help us to help you.

Please describe what you are trying to do in more detail and exactly where it breaks down for you.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Shift log database
            bigtom

A drop down selection will use a Value List. File>Manage>Value Lists.

As philmfdjunk stated there is not much to go on here. The more info you provide the easier it is to help.

• 3. Re: Shift log database
              badox

Hello, thank you for the feedback.

I took some screenshots of the excel version that I'm currently using.

As you can see it's a semi interactive form. Where after "0005/" you can manually enter more fields if applicable.

Screenshot 2017-06-21 10.02.53.pngScreenshot 2017-06-21 09.54.25.pngScreenshot 2017-06-21 09.59.17.png

• 4. Re: Shift log database
                philmodjunk

Yes, but when you attempt to set this up in FileMaker, what's the first problem that you encounter?

• 5. Re: Shift log database
                  badox

I don't really know how to create the form...

I got the tables set up for the combo box, but I don't know how to combine them to display them as displayed in the screenshots...