1 2 Previous Next 21 Replies Latest reply on Jun 24, 2017 7:33 AM by beverly

How fast are computations?

davebb

I am not a developer.  And I have a question about a script I would like to have the database perform, but I am not sure it will work.

I have a database where I manually enter all info.  After typing in the date of birth, the db calculates the age and grade.

I am working with a developer to create a script that will automatically import records from a csv file.

The plan is to do this:

Import all record info from csv to database, including Date of birth

Database calculates age and grade and either updates or leaves untouched the age and grade fields in the db

Database compares the corresponding csv age and grade fields to the (possibly) newly updated db fields

If there are any changes, take some action - not important.

The question is this:

Will the database be able to conduct these functions in order, or might the database compare the corresponding csv and db fields, before the fields have a chance to update from the calculation already set up in the db?

• 1. Re: How fast are computations?
          schamblee

Will the database be able to conduct these functions in order, or might the database compare the corresponding csv and db fields, before the fields have a chance to update from the calculation already set up in the db?

The order will depend on the script.     FM will not be able to perform anything on the csv file until it is imported.  I suggest importing the csv file into a csv import table and then have your script to update the main database from this import table.

• 2. Re: How fast are computations?
            davebb

Like I said, I am not a developer.  But yes, my developer has a csv import table.  So you are saying that the import has 2 steps?  (1) import all data into csv import table, then (2) update info, move info, whatever (exactly what happens here is foggy) into my main database?

• 3. Re: How fast are computations?