Please see screenshot below.
There is a misnomer in FileMaker's Privilege Sets which we think should be renamed.
The option entitled "Allow exporting" is misnamed, because this checkbox actually controls BOTH exporting AND importing.
If this checkbox is unchecked, then users are not allowed to import data.
We believe that in very old versions of FileMaker, this option might have actually controlled ONLY exporting. But now, this option actually controls BOTH exporting AND importing.
So we believe that this option should either be renamed, or there should be 2 separate checkboxes (one for importing and one for exporting).