1 2 Previous Next 19 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2017 8:04 AM by gofmp15

Barcode to populate multiple fields with one barcode - iPad scanner

andydawson

Hi All,

I'm new to Filemaker (ok with Access though!) and I'm trying to populate multiple fields using a single QR Code being scanned using an iPad.

I'm using IDAutomation software within a long standing Access database to generate a QR code. I have coded ~d009 [Tab] (and tried ~d013 [Carriage Return]) into the QR code in an attempt to get the barcode to advance to the next field on Filemaker....with no luck. It interprets the tilde command, because it reflects in the data that's entered however, it will not move to the next field in the form.

I have ticked the options to move to the next field in Filemaker. Tab, Return and Enter are all ticked, with no luck.

I can only think that the command to move to the next field on an iPad is different, therefore I need to code this in to the barcode.

Has anyone else managed this, or have any other ways of achieving the desired result?

For information, the fields are not fixed in length, they can vary massively.

Thanks for any help.

• 1. Re: Barcode to populate multiple fields with one barcode - iPad scanner
          schamblee

Use the script trigger onObjectModifify in the barcode field, then run a script with the  "go to field" script step with the name of the field you want to go to. 

basic sample Dropbox - BarCodeSample.fmp12

• 2. Re: Barcode to populate multiple fields with one barcode - iPad scanner
            gofmp15

FileMaker does not react to any code inside a barcode that is inserted into a container field. It places the barcode into a container and displays it as a picture. You can grab the container attribute for the barcode and insert that into a second field. The data could be a single line of numbers or as many as 4000-8000 text characters for a QR code.