1 2 3 Previous Next 33 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2017 6:40 AM by gofmp15

How can I create tables with multiple keys

liverpool101

Sorry but I'm a newbie. Maybe this has been asked before.

I'm trying to create a healthcare application and I need to be able to create the structure below:

Patient Table - Primary Key MRN #

Visit table - Key Date within MRN

Orders Table - sequential starting at 1 (auto increment by 1) within visit date within MRN

eg

MRN 123

visit 03/21/2015

order 1

visit 04/12/2016

order 1

mrn 6354

visit 05/25/2015

order 1

how can I accomplish this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

(BTW I'm on Version 11 because I still run XP (and so do my clients))

Thanks.

• 1. Re: How can I create tables with multiple keys
          coherentkris

SWAG ( stupid wild a$$ guess) but the op is tryIng to figure out how to solve the potential many to many between visits and orders.

Date can be an attribute of a visit but should never be a key field in visits.

If its left as a key field your doctor could only conduct one visit per day.

Visits should have a primary key of its own.

Visits should have a foreign key relationship to patients primary key

• 2. Re: How can I create tables with multiple keys
            liverpool101

These are CLIENT requirements. BTW I have been in Healthcare IT for 30 years total

(going back to 1973). I realize it's old technology but it IS what the client is asking for.

I just thought someone could help.

I guess not.

• 3. Re: How can I create tables with multiple keys
              philmodjunk

Help is available, but they are asking questions that you should be asking your client. It's not always in you or the client's best interest to do what they try to require you to do. That's a tricky dance to make with many clients, but telling them that what they want to do has a serious downside is part of the expertise that they are paying you to provide to them.