AnsweredAssumed Answered

Webdirect basics

Question asked by WilliamDuncan on Jul 11, 2017
Latest reply on Jul 12, 2017 by PointInSpace

I am currently running FMP 15 on a MacBook Pro under Sierra (macOS 10.12.5).

I've spent several hours over the past 3 days trying to get some basic questions answered about setting up my first web-based database. I've read lots of words, but everything I've read seems geared to someone who has implemented web-based databases before. I even sent an inquiry to FM's sales staff, but the answer I got was unhelpful.

While I've been using FM since it first came out, all of my databases run locally on my laptop. I am an absolute novice for online databases.

Here's a quick overview of my application ... I run a certification program for my professional society. Candidates complete an MSWord-forms application, email to me, and I convert it to text for loading into FM. I would like to eliminate that form and have them enter all of the info online. The application form is pretty simple: the usual name and address info, two professional references, preferred exam dates, and a couple of check boxes.

So here are my questions ...

1.  It appears that I must buy a copy of FileMaker Server. Is that correct? Or can I do this will just FMP? FMP appears to allow me to upload my database using FileMaker WebDirect, but I don't know if I can access the database through FMP.

2.  We currently use SiteGround to host our website. If we need Server, I'm assuming that it would have to be installed by them?