8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 12, 2017 2:26 PM by cmj

Add Record Script with Dialog

cmj

I'm very new to scripts and require some direction on accomplishing a task.

On my layout (not a portal), I've placed a button that will add a new record.

When the user selects the button:

I'm requesting a new record (I can do this)

Going to a specific field that contains a drop-down (I can do this)

At this point, I want dialog to tell the user to select from the drop-down. The dialog should remain in place until the record is selected. (no idea how to do this)

Next, the cursor goes to another drop-down field (I can do this) and the dialog pops up again until the record is selected.

After that I set various fields that relate to the choices made in the drop-down fields. (I think I can do this).

Thank You

• 1. Re: Add Record Script with Dialog
          fitch

Dialog boxes are modal, that is, they prevent the user from doing other actions. So we can't build this exactly as you described.

If you simply want to require that certain fields not be empty, you can specify that in the field's validation options (under Manage > Database).

If your goal is to prompt the user, there are various ways to display a message on the layout -- for example using the "Hide object when" feature of the Inspector. This is generally a better user experience too. Most people find dialog boxes very annoying.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Add Record Script with Dialog
            cmj

Thanks Tom. I tried this but the script does not pause until the drop-down selections are made. The issue is that the script needs the drop-down values prior to setting other related field values.

I could use a second script that runs upon leaving the last drop-down field but the records in this layout are often created by manual entry (not using the button). In those cases I would not want the script to run upon leaving the last drop-down field.

• 3. Re: Add Record Script with Dialog