4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 14, 2017 9:34 AM by philmodjunk

Complicated Queries

haibaraai

Hi,

I am very new to FileMaker. Can I know do FM support complicated queries? I am doing a project which need to deal with transactions (Quote, Order etc) calculation. Quote and Order have different calculation so I need to customize the query. Besides that, Quote and Order for my project are in separate Excel file and I need to do calculation in FM and combine the results into another table.

Thank you in advance for helping

• 1. Re: Complicated Queries
          beverly

You might define "queries" for more accurate answers.

And Welcome to the Community Forum.

FileMaker native finds are pretty powerful. There are wildcards, scripted finds, modify last find, constrains and extends, the ability to AND, OR & NOT the results.

The context of a find can also be a factor. If you search for something in a portal, it returns the parent records with that value in the child records. If you want to find the child records only, then you navigate to the layout where the children are the context of the layout (what table occurrence?) And Export (or Save as) to Excel also may rely on the context. And export from the parent with all the child fields will look different than the export from the children and including the parent field.

You mention "calculation" and how you are using these for your queries would be helpful.

Are you by chance using SQL in some way? If so, can you be more specific? You may post screen shots or copy calculations and paste as text here.

Thank you!

Beverly

• 2. Re: Complicated Queries
            philmodjunk

Please note that if you are used to using SQL to query a database, FileMaker's Query By Example process can take some effort to get used to.