14 Replies Latest reply on Jul 20, 2017 6:38 PM by philmodjunk

Preventing Duplicate Full Names What am I doing wrong.

markjones1

I have the need to be notified when I add a new Royal Ranger into my Ranger Database so that I am not duplicating full names.  I am ok with

Mark Jones,  Mark Jr.  Jones,   Mark Sr. Jones   but don't want Full names duplicated.

I have tried this many different times the past 2 days and it still doesn't work.

I created a new file with just enough to look this over. What have I missed. Even when there is no duplicate First or Last Name it pops up a validation error.  https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D3374685_08646690_711050

Any help is appreciated.  I am not a programmer. I am a lineman for at&t but have been using Filemaker since the early 1990's.  Most of my datafiles are clunky at best and flat file structured.  I do have 35 plus data bases that cover most information a Church Scout District level on down would need to track.

This is not critical it just pops up every now and then.  I have sometimes 3 generations of men and boys that are in the program and I track all their advancements and info.   If you need your broadband internet fixed. I can do that.  This relational validation thing is kicking my tail. HELP!

• 1. Re: Preventing Duplicate Full Names What am I doing wrong.
          keywords

The obvious question is: why must names be unique? I used to play in a cricket club that had two Ray Watsons. We managed.

It sounds as if you may be using full name as a primary key which is an approach doomed to fail, as you are discovering. What are you going to do with all those John Smiths? Are you going to force them to change names? Adopt a nickname? Spell their names in different ways? It is about as silly as saying that no two cars can have the same colour, so you have pale yellow. yellowish white, greeny yellow … … …