1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Jul 24, 2017 3:50 AM by beverly

How to assign records to different users

thekops

Hi, I am still quite new to filemaker. I am trying to make a user database where different users will login using their individual username and password. and immediately after logging in, they will be able to view their profile page. However, currently, the different records created are not owned by any users. (As any user can currently just switch records to view other user profile.) I have created a user table, with fields such as "Username, password,

I have created a user table, with fields such as "Username, password, email and priority" Do anyone know how to assign the users to their individual records??. Thanks:)

• 1. Re: How to assign records to different users
          mikebeargie

So you already created a users table, and assumably you have filled out "Username" with the filemaker account names of your users. You're already on the right track!

At this point, you should probably setup security privileges for those user accounts. Creating a "User" privilege set, then assigning that privilege set to your users is the first step.

Next, set the User privilege set to only allow access to records in the "user" table based on a calculation of:

Get(AccountName) = user::Username

This will restrict access to those records and only allow filemaker users assigned the "User" privilege set to see the record they are associated with. Your account (left on the [full access] privilege set) will be able to see all users. You can even create an "admin" privilege set to allow special users to access and edit other users records if needed.

Check out this helpful video that covers those security settings:

User Specific Privileges - ISO FileMaker Magazine

Once you have done that, in your login script or as a trigger script on your user table layout, just do a simple find script like so:

Set Error Capture [ on ]

Allow User Abort [ off ]