13 Replies Latest reply on Jul 20, 2017 6:28 AM by dantrue

Edit Record List based on Value List

dantrue

Hi, I'm brand new to FMP, so I may be trying to do this in a much more complicated than necessary way.

I created a table called FloorTable with two fields, FloorName and FloorFrequency. I used a script to calculate the FloorFrequency of the FloorName in the InventoryTable, which is linked by FloorName. Each Record in FloorTable holds a different FloorName and its corresponding FloorFrequency. Now when users go to input a new Inventory item, they select which floor from a drop-down menu which has values from an editable pre-defined Value List called FloorOptions. When they edit FloorOptions, I want it to update the FloorTable records to make FloorName match, but I cannot reference FloorOptions directly and if I set the drop-down options equal to a field, users cannot edit the list. Ideas?

• 1. Re: Edit Record List based on Value List
          philmodjunk

There's a lot in that post that I don't follow, but it appears that:

a) You have a value list of floors and a table of floors.

b) When someone edits the value list of floors, the changes should then update the table of foors.

Do I understand you correctly?

If so, turn it around. Use the table of floors to generate the list of values in the value list. Edit the data in the table of floors and the value list will automatically update to match.

To do this, Set up a "use values from field" value list that lists values from the floors table. Instead of the "edit" option, add a button next to it that takes the user to a layout or portal for editing the floors table.

A popover with a portal to the floors table with buttons for deleting and adding portal records might serve here, but this is far from the only option and much depends on your table and what you need to do with it.

• 2. Re: Edit Record List based on Value List
            dantrue

Sorry for the scattered question.

a) and b) are correct