1 2 Previous Next 20 Replies Latest reply on Aug 20, 2017 7:23 PM by mquinn

Creating a second portal

mquinn

I am very new to filemaker. Five months. I work for a university and I use the file to keep track of graduate students current and alum. I also use it to track faculty and how they relate to students. So on that subject, I have a students table and a faculty table. Each student has at least one advisor and sometimes a co-advisor. I created a join table and a portal linking faculty as advisors to their students and vice versa. advisor and coadvisor are delineated with a boolean field numeric = 1. It works like a charm. I can create reports.

Now, each student also has 1-3 faculty members as their committee (for exams and thesis progress). I need to create a 2nd portal from the same two tables for each students committee. Of note, a faculty member is not a committee member and an advisor.  Currently my committees are listed as repeat fields but reports are not possible.

I do not want to delineate the committee field on the advisor portal as I'd like to keep the advisor lists and committee lists separate on the faculty layout/table.

Screen Shot 2017-07-24 at 7.19.01 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-07-24 at 7.19.30 PM.png

• 1. Re: Creating a second portal
          TSPigeon

mquinn:

Thank you for your post!

I am going to move this from the Community Feedback Space, which is for issues and suggestion on the Community itself, to the Discussions space. There you should receive more views and potentially more feedback.

TSPigeon

FileMaker, Inc.

• 2. Re: Creating a second portal
            philmodjunk

Some basic options come to mind:

Add another join table for committee members. This makes data entry to assign faculty to a student's committee simple, but any error checking you might do to avoid selecting a committee member who is already assigned as an advisor may be a bit more complex.