10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 31, 2017 1:15 PM by philmodjunk

Beginners Problems!

smithy

I am very new to Filemaker & have read and watched hours of tutorials, but just can't seem to find my solution!

I have Customers in one table and Appliances in another, some customers may have 1 appliance another may have hundreds of appliances!

Each appliance is related to the customer ID and each appliance has an individual ID!

I can search a customer and show their appliances but can not work out how to select an appliance to put on a job sheet?

I haven't created a Jobsheet table yet!

Any Help would be greatfully received !

• 1. Re: Beginners Problems!
          ErikWegweiser

Hi, smithy,

So far, it's unclear to me what goes on a job sheet in your solution. Can you sketch-out how it should appear and possibly what you think the E-R diagram, showing relationships between the two or three tables, should look like?

• 2. Re: Beginners Problems!
            smithy

Hi Erikwegweiser

The tables in basic form would be:

CUSTOMERS TABLE                         APPLIANCE TABLE                               JOBSHEET      

custid------------------------------------custid--------------------------------------custid

name                                                   applianceid--------------------------------applianceid

address                                                make                                                     job date 

phone                                                  model                                                     job description

location                                                  time

Our 20 year old plus database which is no longer supported! Allows us to search a customer, then list their appliances and print a job sheet with the Customer and appliance information along with call times etc. I know filemaker can do it but just can't find a way round it!

• 3. Re: Beginners Problems!
              smithy